Four Speculative Novellas: Tchaikovsky, Klages, Le Guin and Cho #NovellasInNovember #SciFiMonth

51321odn4tL

Gary was once a normal boy from Stevenage. Now he’s the sole survivor of a group of astronauts sent to investigate a gigantic alien artefact out beyond Pluto’s orbit, wandering through an endless maze of chambers that he calls ‘The Crypts’. Time, space, and other laws of physics are fluid in the Crypts: Gary walks between different atmospheres and finds that gravity doesn’t always behave itself. He also encounters a range of aliens who have also wandered into this artefact, but are clearly fellow explorers rather than its creators; some of whom are friendly, some of whom attack him. But he gradually becomes tormented by a ‘scritchy-scratchy’ noise in his head, and determines to seek out its cause. Adrian Tchaikovsky clearly had fun with Walking to Aldebaran, which is very different from everything else I’ve read by him and reminded me of many other things, from Caitlin Starling’s SF/horror novel The Luminous Dead to Clark Ashton Smith’s terrifying short story ‘The Vaults of Yoh-Vombis’ to old Fighting Fantasy gamebooks like Deathtrap Dungeon (Tchaikovsky is apparently into role-play and there’s a D&D reference at the start, so that last one is probably deliberate). Gary’s narration is also reminiscent of Mark Watney’s dry humour in Andy Weir’s The Martian, but I thought Tchaikovsky made cleverer use of this register, making it clear how Gary uses it as a defence mechanism.  A satisfying SF/horror novella with a good twist (I saw it coming, but I think I was meant to), plus a reference to a classic text at the end.

81FtsPDsTbL

What a gem of a book. Ellen Klages’s Passing Strange is a near-perfect novella. Set in San Francisco in the 1940s, Klages beautifully recreates a hidden lesbian subculture, taking us to bars like Mona’s where women dress in drag and butch/femme couples dominate, while detailing the police abuse that lesbians suffer if they are caught – for example – breaking the ‘three garment rule’ and not wearing at least three pieces of female clothing. At the centre of this novel is the relationship between bisexual pulp comics artist Haskell and lesbian drag king performer Emily, but Klages places them within a warm, supportive network of other queer women. While Klages wisely lets us discover her world and fall in love with her characters slowly, the book still maintains an underlying tension because of its mysterious prologue, set decades after the main action, when the last surviving member of the group drives a hard bargain for one of Haskell’s paintings. I also liked that the magic in this novel is an undercurrent rather than a dominant theme, something that forms a natural part of these women’s marginalised lives. The only thing that didn’t quite work for me in Passing Strange was the ending; I adored the way that the novel concluded but I felt that the steps to getting there were a bit rushed, as the women very quickly accept the unbelievable and don’t seem much concerned about an utter sea-change in their lives. Nevertheless, I’d recommend this to readers regardless of whether you normally like SF or speculative fiction; this is really a historical novella with a little supernatural glitter.

81IdIMsAS-L

After loving Ursula Le Guin’s The Dispossessed earlier this year, and having read The Left Hand of Darkness back in 2018, I wanted to read more from her Hainish Cycle. To be honest, it was the title of this novella that sold it to me: I couldn’t resist The Word for World Is Forest. In her introduction to the text, Le Guin says that she knew when writing this novella in 1968 against the background of the Vietnam War ‘that it was likely to become a preachment.’ And the plot is familiar; humans despoil another race’s planet and exploit its native people, who then become violent in their turn as they resist. (I was reminded, for example, of Sylvia Louise Engdahl’s brilliant Enchantress From The Stars.) The book is narrated by three people: Lyubov, the human who is the most sympathetic to the Athsheans, Davidson, who is utterly unsympathetic, and Selvan, the leader of the Athshean resistance. I’d agree with Le Guin herself that Davidson is ‘purely evil’ and hence not particularly interesting. I wonder if this novella would have worked better if she’d kept Davidson in play but relegated him to the secondary cast; a more ambiguous human narrator, perhaps Dongh, who grudgingly comes to broker peace with the Athsheans, could have been a good replacement.

However, what saved this novella from feeling moralistic to me was the sheer quality of Le Guin’s writing and the way she develops the oppressed Athsheans, who are presented as another evolutionary branch of humankind. The Athsheans use dreams consciously to solve problems in the ‘real’ world, or what they call ‘world-time’; some of their human colonisers view them as lazy or insane because of this, and the Athsheans return the courtesy: ‘A realist is a man who knows both the world and his own dreams. You’re not sane: there’s not one man in a thousand of you that knows how to dream… Now go back and talk about reality with the other insane men.’ There’s something more here than a simple tale of power and exploitation; a debate over what is ‘real’ and who gets to decide. For the Athsheans, after all, ‘the word for world is forest’, whereas the humans only see the forest as a source of valuable wood. Similarly, we might think, the Athsheans have come to terms with the powers of the unconscious that are beyond rational ken, the dark forest within ourselves, whereas most humans stick to the shallow edges of the mind.

Zen Cho’s ‘The Terra-Cotta Bride’, at 30-odd pages, is really a short story rather than a novella, reprinted in her collection Spirits Abroad. But it’s a superb short story that manages to be funny, wildly creative, immersive and poignant. Siew Tsin is living an unhappy death in the Chinese afterlife after she’s married off to the richest man in the tenth circle of hell (his descendants burn paper money for him ‘with pious fervour and regularity’ and it turns up at the bottom of his closet). In the tenth circle, those who can afford it avoid both the torments of demons and the risk of being called to ‘have tea with Lady Meng’ and being reborn. Siew Tsin’s afterlife takes an even more bizarre turn when her husband brings home a beautiful terra-cotta automaton, Yonghua, as his bride; the inhabitants of hell are used to terra-cotta warriors causing trouble, but nobody has ever seen anything like this before. At this point, I thought I knew how the story was going to play out – but actually, I did not. Like the tiny paper replicas of real-world objects that the descendants burn for their ancestors, this story creates an entire world in miniature. I can’t wait to read the rest of Cho’s collection.

I feel like I got lucky with my #SciMonth #NovellasInNovember choices here! Do any of these appeal to you? READ PASSING STRANGE OBVIOUSLY And have you been reading any SF, speculative fiction and/or novellas this month?

24 thoughts on “Four Speculative Novellas: Tchaikovsky, Klages, Le Guin and Cho #NovellasInNovember #SciFiMonth

  1. Pingback: It’s Novellas in November time – add your links here! #NovNov22

  2. Not read any Tchaikovsky yet but this novella might be a way in for me, thanks! The Le Guin I enjoyed a while ago, and despite being necessarily preachy now reminds me of a cross between Apocalypse Now! (1979) and Avatar (2009), both of which it must surely have influenced.

    And the Zen Cho appeals, having got a lot out of Black Water Sister and to a lesser extent Sorcerer to the Crown.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve not seen either film but as well as the more literary texts I mention in my review, it strongly reminded me of the US children’s fiction The Hork-Bajir Chronicles (from the Animorphs series) which also predates Avatar and I know has been compared to it 🙂

      I wasn’t sure about Zen Cho’s novels, as the blurbs didn’t appeal. If I get on well with the rest of this short fiction collection, I’ll definitely be trying her longer stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved the Le Guin when I read it, although The Dispossessed definitely hit me harder. Just read Black Water Sister and, although it took some time to get into, I ended up enjoying it a lot—Cho’s Sorcerer to the Crown was a big winner for me, and her short fiction sounds great. Walking to Aldebaran’s setting reminds me slightly of the House in Piranesi, which is a big tick!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It does have a feel of the House, though I liked Tchaikovsky’s version better – Piranesi was ultimately a bit too vague for me. The blurb for Black Water Sister doesn’t appeal right now (it’s unusual for ghost books to work for me) but I definitely have my eye on Sorcerer to the Crown!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Four very interesting ones though likely to appeal more to Matthew than to me. I’ve done I think four novellas so far and aim to read some more this week – and of course have randomly gained two more when I’d already laid out 15 to choose from!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good work! I’d be interested to know if Matthew has read/is keen to read any of these! Passing Strange is really very speculative-lite, though – for most of it, I forgot I wasn’t reading a straight historical novel.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m not sure he has – because he almost exclusively does audiobooks now he tends to like to get his value with hefty tomes! I’m sure he’ll let me know when he reaches your tweet (if you haven’t migrated to Mastodon yet!).

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Great job combining two challenges!

    I think Passing Strange is the one I’d be most likely to read, for being the least hard-SF.

    My husband got really into Adrian Tchaikovsky earlier this year. He read Children of Time in a few days. (In a 6-degrees type of relationship: the brother of one of my book club members is good friends with A.T.)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I haven’t read anything by Zen Cho but having just finished Yangsze Choo’s The Ghost Bride I’m interested in reading that particular short story to see how her portrayal of the Chinese afterlife compares!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m so glad that you enjoyed The Terracotta Bride! I really need to read the rest of Spirits Abroad. I saw in a previous comment that the blurbs of Cho’s novels don’t really appeal to you, but I thought that it was worth echoing others and saying that Black Water Sister really is excellent. Also, I will 100% be picking up Passing Strange – it sounds amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll definitely have another look! Reading the blurb again, BWS sounded hit and miss for me because of the ghosts and because I thought it might be a bit silly. But Ive just read another story from Spirits Abroad featuring a grandmother’s spirit and I loved that one as well, so maybe Cho can make this combo work for me!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: November Superlatives Plus #NovellasInNovember #SciFiMonth Round-Up | Laura Tisdall

  9. Pingback: A #SciFiMonth Coda: Speculative Fiction in December | Laura Tisdall

  10. Pingback: 2022 In Books: Commendations and Disappointments | Laura Tisdall

  11. Pingback: My Top Ten Books of 2022 | Laura Tisdall

  12. Pingback: March Superlatives, 2023 | Laura Tisdall

  13. Pingback: 2024 Reading Plans | Laura Tisdall

Leave a comment