The Carol Shields Prize, 2024: The Future

813UYAJxJmL._AC_UF894,1000_QL80_

Not to be confused with the other Future that came out recently.

In an alternate future, Fort Détroit was never surrendered by the French. Gloria comes to the city after her daughter dies and her two teen granddaughters disappear. As she tries to work out what happened to her family, she becomes integrated into the community built by the local adults, who grow their own food and provide medical care and emotional support to each other. But a parallel community has been constructed by the children living in the wild forest of Parc Rouge and on the banks of the river Rouge. The children’s world is harsh – any betrayal of information to adults is punished by exile, and members of the group are automatically banished after reaching puberty. But it’s also a world marked by co-operation, caring and ingenuity, as the kids sabotage machines set to pull down Détroit landmarks, and organise raids on local greenhouses for fruit.

Catherine Leroux’s The Future, translated from L’avenir, its French original, by Susan Ouriou, is beautifully hallucinatory, but also has some very real-world things to say about how we care for each other across generations. Interestingly, Leroux has stated that one of the major reasons she set this book in an alternate, Francophone Détroit is because ‘I wanted to be able to write dialogue that felt closer to the dialects and the French that I hear around me. And if I’m writing about English characters, but I’m writing their dialogue into French, then it can’t really take that shape’.  This rings true to me: alternate Détroit didn’t feel like it played a major role in the story, apart from the occasional awkward history-dump, but the language is gorgeously colloquial, so props to Ouriou for preserving that in the English translation. I loved how Leroux moves seamlessly between her characters’ heads, and I think she’s also managed to write the only dog point-of-view that I didn’t find hopelessly sentimental.

I’m always drawn to stories where children create their own worlds, but they tend either to assume feral chaos (Lord of the Flies), calculated horror (‘Children of the Corn’) or make the kids sad victims of circumstance who just need an adult to take charge. Leroux’s take is so much more nuanced. At first, we think these children’s communities are a short-lived thing born of trauma and displacement, but it turns out they have a much longer history in the Parc Rouge. The kids have their own way of understanding their changing environment, which, as with the indigenous Peruvian community in Natasha Pulley’s The Bedlam Stacks, is not ‘scientific’, but is none the less logical. There’s a touch of magical realism in The Future, but it’s possible that this is also just the children’s way of interpreting the strange things that are happening around them. I loved that the adults end up offering help to the children without taking away their autonomy, and that the focus is on a wider network of family relationships, including grandmother-granddaughters, rather than on the nuclear family unit.

I had a few issues with The Future: the first section, which focuses solely on the adults, is very slow, as the children are really the motor of the story, and this delayed introduction also meant that it took me a long while to tell many of the child characters apart. But these are minor quibbles. This is a thoughtful and wonderfully atmospheric book, a far better version of Lydia Millet’s The Children’s Bible, and I’m so glad to see it on the Carol Shields longlist.

I read this as a buddy read with Bookish Beck. Rebecca’s review is here. Thanks so much to Nicole Magas at Zgstories for sourcing a free e-ARC from the publisher for me.

I’m not aiming to read the full Carol Shields Prize longlist this year, but I’ve selected nine titles that I do want to read. This is number six. I’ve already read Birnam Wood, I Have Some Questions for You, Land of Milk and Honey, Loot and Brotherless Night.

8 thoughts on “The Carol Shields Prize, 2024: The Future

  1. Pingback: Carol Shields Prize Longlist Reading: The Future and Chrysalis | Bookish Beck

  2. This sounds really good, actually. Fascinating to see an author get into representing children with nuance—so often authors seem to forget that children are also humans, not just verbal house pets.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Following the link from Rebecca’s page to read your thoughts on this one, Laura. This is a prizelist close to my heart.

    You and I had similar readings of The Future in some ways. I was especially warmed to read your interpretation of the events that might be viewed as magical by some readers: that’s how I received those events too, as the way that children might understand and experience things outside a conventional upbringing in adult society, free to perceive them more fluidly, whereas when the topic was raised on this year’s Canada Reads in the discussion of Leroux’s book, the focus for those five readers was on the magical elements and overlooked the idea that children, beyond the realm of adult influence, might perceive the world very differently.

    The difference in our readings is that I found the first section moved very quickly, whereas the second section was slow for me; I was really engaged from the moment of impact with the accident at the start and Gloria’s very gradual immersion/inclusion in the community, but then slowed in the middle. I chalked this up to the idea that I had already been told the novel was (at least partly) a retelling of The Lord of the Flies, so this second part was the part of the novel I’d actually been anticipating but not necessarily relishing.

    I’ve not read enough of the longlisted novels yet to say this fairly, but I still hope Leroux’s novel advances to the shortlist.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for this thoughtful comment, Marcie, and so interesting to hear you had the same interpretation!

      I didn’t know this was in direct conversation with LOTF, although it makes a lot of sense – I did wonder if the ‘minis’ were inspired by the ‘littleuns’. I love what she does with Golding’s quite limiting vision. I think this one will definitely make my personal shortlist as well.

      Like

  4. Pingback: The Carol Shields Prize, 2024: A Council of Dolls | Laura Tisdall

  5. Pingback: The Carol Shields Prize, 2024: Between Two Moons, & My Shortlist Wishlist! | Laura Tisdall

  6. Pingback: The Carol Shields Prize, 2024, and the Women’s Prize for Fiction, 2024: Dances, The Blue, Beautiful World & In Defence of the Act | Laura Tisdall

Leave a comment