Review: The Haunting Season: Ghostly Tales for Long Winter Nights

9780751581973

I’ve been keen to read this collection since I first heard about it in January 2021, and it seems I wasn’t the only one; it’s the first short story collection to hit the Sunday Times bestseller list since records began, and there are now a shortage of copies! I can kind of see why; this features a stellar line-up of writers who’ve all had big success with at least one book group/accessible literary novel, and it was published at exactly the right time of year, with gorgeous cover art. However, writing short stories is a very different art to writing novels, so would The Haunting Season deliver?

Unsurprisingly for a multiple-author collection, I thought this was a mixed bag, but one which did give me the cozy, spooky reading experience I was looking for, even if some of the stories worked better for me than others. Spooky, ghostly and scary stories are, perhaps, particularly subjective, and it doesn’t help that the ‘ghost story’ is, in my opinion, a very different genre from the ‘horror’ or ‘scary’ story, and this collection brings both together. Personally, I prefer horror stories to ghost stories, and have no time at all for friendly ghosts, so there were a few stories here that were never going to work for me, like Imogen Hermes Gowar’s ‘Thwaite’s Tenant’ (though, even putting my own preferences aside, I thought this was a disappointingly bland story for a writer who produced a novel as original as The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock). On the other end of the spectrum, Jess Kidd’s ‘Lily Wilt’ reminded me of some of H.P. Lovecraft’s less tasteful body horror, particularly his short story ‘Cool Air’, and wasn’t my thing at all. And while I liked the stories by Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Elizabeth Macneal, I’m less interested in psychological horror, where the reader is left uncertain whether what’s truly happening is real, than in full-blown supernatural fear. 

Given I’m a massive Natasha Pulley fan, I wasn’t surprised that her contribution, ‘The Eel Singers’, was my favourite story in the collection. It’s hard for me to know how this would read to someone who isn’t familiar with her novels The Watchmaker of Filigree Street and The Lost Future of Pepperharrowbecause it features their protagonists. However, I thought this was perfectly eerie, evoking the fen landscape and leaving just the right amount unexplained. In contrast, Bridget Collins’s ‘A Study in Black and White’ had a wonderfully chilling central idea, but spent too much time on set-up and seemed to stop just as it got going. Another favourite in the collection for me was Laura Purcell’s ‘The Chillingham Chair’. I didn’t get on with her novels The Silent Companions and (especially) The Corset, but this demonstrated that what might seem thin in a novel works well in a short story; as she does in The Silent Companions, Purcell picks a real historical object – in this case, an early kind of wheelchair – and scares her reader with what happens when it becomes animate. Formulaic, but fun.

All of these stories are historical, set in some undefined eighteenth or nineteenth century (Andrew Michael Hurley’s disappointing contribution, ‘The Hanging of the Greens’, is the only one that feels a bit more modern.) This works for this collection, harking back to the golden age of Victorian ghost stories, but it also leaves it feeling somewhat traditional as a whole. The best stories, like the one by Pulley, are the ones that push the boundaries.

9 thoughts on “Review: The Haunting Season: Ghostly Tales for Long Winter Nights

  1. Wow, that’s wild about the Sunday Times bestseller list! I had no idea. It probably explains why my library ordered a copy. I’m expecting to have mixed feelings, too, and maybe to pick and choose some stories: I’ve enjoyed one book each by Hargrave, Kidd and Macneal, but not the rest of what I’ve tried by them; I’ve DNFed stuff by Collins, Gowar and Purcell; and I’ve not tried Pulley before. Ironically, Hurley is probably the author I’ll get on best with since I’ve read all his novels! Historical ghost stories sound cosy in the run-up to Christmas, anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I couldn’t finish The Loney so I wasn’t expecting much from Hurley, but it’s very much in that vein, so you might enjoy it! I have liked most of the work from all the rest of these authors, though (except Kidd who I hadn’t tried before, and Purcell who I struggle with) so was expecting a higher hit rate.

      Like

  2. Goodness, didn’t realise no short story collections had made it onto the list before – does that include single-author volumes? A good and realistic review – not one for me anyway but always good to know more about books there’s a real buzz about!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Winding Up the Week #196 – Book Jotter

  4. Pingback: December Blogging Break and Rereading Month | Laura Tisdall

  5. Pingback: RIP XVIII Challenge, October 2023 | Laura Tisdall

Leave a comment