My Life in Books, 2019

I did a version of this in 2011, 2012 and 2015 as well as this same list in 2017, because it always amuses me. Borrowed from Jessie at Dwell in Possibility. One book title has been edited slightly to avoid libel!

Untitled

Me and my book!

Using only books you have read this year (2019), answer these questions. Try not to repeat a book title.

In high school I was The Loneliest Girl In The Universe (Lauren James)

People might be surprised by Things A Bright Girl Can Do (Sally Nicholls)

 I will never be Normal People (Sally Rooney)

My fantasy job is State of Wonder (Ann Patchett)

At the end of a long day I need The Language of Kindness (Christie Watson)

I hate Expectation (Anna Hope) 

Wish I had Chemistry (Weike Wang)

My family reunions are Sweet Sorrow (David Nicholls)

At a party you’d find me with My Sister [… the Serial Killer] (Oyinkan Braithwaite)

I’ve never been to Another Planet (Tracey Thorn)

A happy day includes Saltwater (Jessica Andrews)

Motto I live by Yes No Maybe So (Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed)

On my bucket list is Revelation Space (Alistair Reynolds) but I accept that We Can’t All Be Astronauts (Tim Clare)

In my next life, I want to have Memories of the Future (Siri Hustvedt)

 

29 thoughts on “My Life in Books, 2019

      • I can totally understand that. My husband is a Lib Dem councillor and is going to be helping out with leafletting, knocking on doors, taking numbers at the polling centre, meeting up with fellow councillors for a drink — anything to keep himself busy so he’s not just dreading the inevitable (in our area, at least). I’m in the odd, slightly detached position of being able to do nothing about it (since I’m not a citizen and can’t vote), but desperately wanting it to go well.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Best of luck to your husband! I was so anxious about tomorrow evening I’ve decided to try to help get out the vote with Momentum in Northampton North (where I’m currently doing fieldwork) which is an ultra-tight Labour/Tory marginal. I’ve never campaigned before but I think it will be better than sitting at home! I can imagine it must be especially frustrating not having a vote.

          Like

  1. Pingback: My Life in Books, 2019 – pace, amore, libri

  2. Pingback: My Life in Books, 2019 – Annabookbel

  3. Pingback: My Life in Books | 2019 | Callum McLaughlin

  4. Pingback: My Life in Books: 2019 – Thoughts on Papyrus

  5. Pingback: My 2019 Life In Books : BookerTalk

  6. Pingback: My Year in Books – 2019 – Me, My Shelf and I

  7. Pingback: My life in books | 2019 – the [blank] garden

  8. Pingback: My Life In Books, 2020 | Laura Tisdall

  9. Pingback: My Life In Books: 2020 edition

  10. Pingback: My Life In Books: 2021 edition

  11. Pingback: My Life In Books: 2022 edition

  12. Pingback: My Life In Books: 2023 edition

Leave a comment