On the blog in 2016

DSC02255Past record indicates that I’m not very good at keeping to precise schedules for this blog, but here are some of the things you can expect me to be talking about in early 2016…

My favourite books of 2015

First things first, I’ll be putting up my usual list of the top ten books I read this year on 31st December. Previous lists can be found here:

2011 * 2012 * 2013 * 2014

Upcoming book reviews

I’ll be kicking off with a review of Chris Cleave’s forthcoming novel Everybody Brave is Forgiven (April 2016) which I’m reading and loving at the moment. I’ll be also be reviewing Roberta Bivins’s new monograph, Contagious Communities: Medicine, Migration and the NHS in Post-War Britain (2015).

Special posts

Two posts I’ve been promising for a while will finally be written:

  • Is GRRM’s A Song of Ice and Fire feminist?
  • Re-reading my teenage diaries

Continuing with the teenage theme…

I’m starting a new project; I’m going to be re-reading novels I hated when I was a teenager and seeing what I think of them now. This obviously excludes novels that were obvious rubbish, or novels which I know I won’t have changed my opinion on (nothing could induce me to read David Copperfield, War and Peace, or Vanity Fair again). The first three candidates are:

  1. Harper Lee. To Kill a Mockingbird [obviously to be followed by a first reading of Go Set A Watchman]
  2. Emily Bronte. Wuthering Heights
  3. Michel Faber. The Crimson Petal and the White

Happy holidays!

2 thoughts on “On the blog in 2016

  1. Pingback: Laura Rereading: Atticus on trial | Laura Tisdall

  2. Pingback: ‘Because they could’ | Laura Tisdall

Leave a Reply

